underground wonderland was stumbled upon in 1923 by the owner
of the farm called Klipfonteinhoek when he was searching for
a source of water. Great was his surprise when he realised
that some of his cattle had already mysteriously disappeared
into the cave.
exploring the cave it was soon realised that this dark underworld
carried with it the most beautiful gems of nature.
the completion of the Abel Erasmus Pass and the Strijdom Tunnel
in 1959 the cave was opened as a tourist attraction. Later
the cave was declared a National Monument..
name Echo was given to the cave, as a certain stalactite formation
produces a distinctive echoing sound when tapped on. This
echo can still be heard on the outside of the cave today.